Fire Island Bound. July 11, 2008

I’m sitting here wishing I had a photo to post, but I don’t.  I drove Larry and his crew (Carl, Joe, Marty and Pete) down to Forked River today.  We arrived by 10:30 and it was a gorgeous day, albeit, it was hot, as it’s always Forked hot in Forked River. 

Joe and Marty eyeballed everything top to bottom, which we expected and wanted them to do.  No major issues were found.  They played with the new engine and even tried to play Jingle Bells on the blower until Larry couldn’t take it anymore.  Carl and I went shopping.  Pete was Pete which means, he watches, listens and speaks when he has something to say. 

Since there isn’t much to do on an 18 hour sail besides eat, we bought tons of food:  6 two foot heros (2 roast beef, 2 turkey and 2 italian), 1 bag of potato chips, 1 bag of Doritos, 2 bags of Utz Special Dark Pretzels, 2 boxes of Yodels, 1 box of Little Debbie Snow Balls, 1 block of cheddar, 1 block of havarti, 1 box of wheat thins, bagels, cream cheese, beer, gatorade, 2 cases of water, 1 case of coca cola……Wow.  Lots of food. 

I left feeling weird.  I know they’ll be fine, yet you still worry.  I didn’t listen to music.  I was just quiet and thoughtful.  I hit a shitload of traffic on Southern State due to an accident.  That sucked.  I still got home at a decent hour.  I heard from Larry later that they were in High Bar Marina and had had a good sail there.  As it turns out, there was no restaurant there as we had previously thought.  Larry found another and called a cab as feeding the crew was of utmost importance. 

My daughter is sleeping over her cousins.  So it’s just the little guy and me.  We cooked and played some games.  Now it’s time to turn in and watch a little TV together before falling asleep.  I keep thinking of Tom Petty singing….the waiting is the hardest part.

 

Leave a Reply

