The refinishing is well on its way.

After much “discussion” ;), the refinishing of the teak on Miss Gracie is underway.  I sanded a bit last fall.  Larry pretty much sanded the rest.  I must give credit where credit is due.  The only thing left unsanded right now is the toe rail and trim piece along the transom.  The rub rail was sanded and finished in the boat yard.  Today I began cetol naturaling (yes, it’s a word.  I made it so.)  There is tremendous satisfaction in applying a finish to wood.  Especially after sooooo much prep work done by my darling Larry.  Anyhoo, this is pretty much what everything looked like before we started – click on the picture to temporarily enlarge.

Pretty crappy.  Then we sanded and it looked like this:

Ooooooo.  Purty.  Today, Cetol Naturaling begins!

That’s one coat.  The next shows our new cowlings (purty!) and the starboard side hand rails, eyebrow and combings.  You’ll get the full effect after just two more coats of Natural and another two coats of Gloss.  It will be beautiful.  I will be loving it.  Oh, and let’s not forget that crappy looking toe rail!!  That will get sanded this weekend and refinished next week.  Which reminds me.  She won’t be completely done.  Not until we get the name on her!  I’ve got to call Carl and schedule some time this week on a calm day to get the name on.   Oh, and one more thing I just remembered – I’ve got to finish painting the hatches with black awlgrip.  THEN she will be looking fine and ready for some sails.  I’ve got my work cut out for me, eh?  It will be worth it in the end.  Oh!  The stainless……  I’m stopping here or I’ll soon be depressed!!  Or exhausted.  In any way you look at it, it was a good day.  I started with a Zumba class with Sandralee and then got a whole coat on the boat.  Not bad for a days work.  After that it was me and the Honda all afternoon – school pickup, swimming drop off, karate drop off, swimming pick up, karate pick up, homework and dinner.  Tonight?  Book club!!  Can’t wait.  Ta ta for now.  More photos tomorrow after Cardio Fusion and coat number two.

Leave a Reply

