Beef Berginyone a la Nutsy!

Having made Julia Child’s Beouf Bourguignon 4 times (to RAVE reviews), I have wondered whether or not a “cheater’s version” or just plain easier version would work.  Today is the day I find out!

So far I browned the meat in olive oil, tossed with flour and put in 450 oven for 8 minutes.  Then I added a bottle of red wine, 1 container of beef stock, baby carrots, ketchup, garlic powder, 2 sprigs of thyme and 2 bay leaves.  I covered it and put it in the oven!!!  Wow, cheating feels pretty good so far…..  Here are the steps I have just skipped and the shortcuts I have taken so far:

1.  I skipped the bacon altogether.

2.  I skipped cooking the onions and carrots in the leftover beef drippings.  I don’t have onions right now.  I just added baby carrots to the gravy.  I will buy onions today, saute them and add later.

3.  I had no tomato paste so I used Ketchup!  I didn’t feel like chopping garlic and (making this a true test) I just decided to shake in garlic powder (SHAMEFUL!!!!!).

4.  I am NOT going to waste my time braising onions.  I am going to add a package of frozen creamed onions (which makes the sauce thick and lovely).

All that is left is to add the sauteed onions, sauteed mushrooms and defrosted creamed onions…..Cannot wait to see what it tastes like.  I must say, it’s been super easy so far.  Even if it doesn’t match up, I can’t imagine it won’t be delicious.  How could anything with a bottle of red wine in it NOT be fabulous??????  Keep you posted!!

One Response to “Beef Berginyone a la Nutsy!”

  1. R. Sherman Says:

    I look forward to the review with photos. I’ve wanted to do Child’s version, but the problem is always finding the right time and the having a long lazy afternoon. Easier said, than done.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

