Happy New Year

I hope you all had a nice evening.  We sure did.  We went to Larry’s brother’s house.  It was really nice.  There were 4 families, great conversation and good food.  I felt like shit, but was able to sit in a comfy chair drinking diet coke all night – so I was happy.  Kids had a ball, of course.  They put on a show for us and took every opportunity to be loud because they could.  It was fun and I’m glad we went.

Everyone slept last night and I think we’re all feeling a lot better after a decent night’s sleep.  Miss Gracie is still asleep – It’s 9:55!!  Larry is already off Frostbiting this morning.  There is also the Ed Brooks Memorial New Year’s Day Race today at noon.  Originally, I was thinking of bringing the kids down to the dock to see them off, but I just don’t feel like it.  We need to bring it down a notch, or four.  Kids are supposed to go skating while I go down to Pier 44 for the race afterparty…..but I don’t really feel like doing that either.  I’ve seen everyone who’s going to be there and do I really need another opportunity to be a bad girl?  No.  Of course I’m writing this at 9:57am and it could all change by noon….probably not though.  It’s a pajama day (even though the sun is shining making me feel guilty).

So it’s the new year.  I’m not making any new resolutions – just continuing with those from 2010:  No more people who try to bring me down, no more narcissists, no more negative energy (I seemed to be a magnet for people like this in the past).  Following these rules make your world a bit smaller, but FAR happier.  It’s constant work and a long journey, but one I have found worth taking.  I’m a better wife, mother and friend because of it and I’m so much happier.  Once you get going, it’s easy to ignore the negative/unhappy/jealous energy around you.  You begin to feel sorry for these folks instead of feeling hurt or bad.  Then you begin to realize the profound meaning of being responsible only for yourself and your actions and everything else seems to step in line.  Enough philosphy.  Happy new year.  Let’s hope it’s a good one!!!

Oh! And just for fun, check this out.  I think whoever writes this is one of the funniest people ever.  And I couldn’t agree with him/her more.

4 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. We saw True Grit last night. Very good movie. I’m glad you had a relaxing evening.

    Cheers.

  2. Can I get excited for a review?!?!?!? The original is one of my all time faves….there’s nothing quite like John Wayne rearing his horse at the end and taking off…..thrilling. I’m going to see that next week during school – with or without my Sandralee…

    I have a pretty long list of “to sees”….True Grit, How Do You Know, The King’s Speech, Love and Other Drugs, Another Year, 127 Hours, Somewhere…..

  3. Happy New Year to you, Nutsy! I’m pretty glad that 2010 is in the rearview and 2011 is up front. I’m ready for a new year, new opportunities, new adventures and more good fun with my kids.

    The one main resolution I am going to aim for is to remove the negatives in my life and focus on the positives. Oh and a bunch more triathlons and mountain bike races!

  4. Removing negatives is awesome. Sometimes hard to do as energy is energy whether negative or positive….if you know what I mean. It’s a good resolution and I’m totally with you on it. I hope that 2011 is a better year for all of us. 2010 was certainly not the Fagan’s best…but things are definitely looking brighter now. Enjoy your babies!!!

Leave a Reply

