And we’re off!

Kids went back to school yesterday.  Larry was off, which was really nice.  We lounged in the morning and then went out to lunch and walked around Babylon for a bit.  Today is back to the gym and better habits.  I’m going to have to drag my ass there, but it must be done.  We have Florida in April and my niece’s wedding in August, aside from just needing to be healthy!

I’m a bit anxious as I am going into Sloan tomorrow for the results of my genetic testing.  I’m not afraid and I know I can handle what comes, but it’s all I can think about.  If I am BRCA1 positive, like my sister Jeanie, then my chances of ovarian cancer rise dramatically.  To prevent this, I will have a hysterectomy asap.  My chances of breast cancer rise dramatically as well, however Sloan does not recommend mastectomy.  Thank God, because I won’t be having that.  You can have everything else, thank you very much.  Should I be positive, after the hysterectomy, I will be screened at Sloan for breast cancer every six months alternating MRI’s with mammograms.  I am completely comfortable with this.  Breast cancer is highly curable when caught early.  Ovarian is not and is nearly impossible to detect until Stage 3.  I guess what bothers me most is that if I’m positive then there’s a 50/50 chance my children will be positive and that is something they’ll have to deal with that when they’re older and have children, mostly my Gracie.  I no can like that.  It’s a 50/50 shot and it is what it is.  Either way, I know that my family and I will be fine.  So that is what I should be concentrating on, right?  Uh huh.  I just want to know and move on.  Tomorrow, tomorrow.

One Response to “And we’re off!”

  1. Knowledge is power. Once something becomes a known commodity, you can deal with it. It’s the uncertainty which causes the stress.

    Best of luck and my prayers for you.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

