Nutsy’s Chicken Caccianesca….or is it Puttantore? Nah, I like Caccianesca. It’s “cacciay”!!

Began the day by makeing Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore.…wow.  Did this need help!  I made so many changes, that I’ve changed the name (and perhaps the entire dish) and now it’s absolutely delicious.  How did this ever get 144 reviews that it was great?  Don’t know.  Anyway, here’s the skinny and this one is a keeper.  Larry’s going to LOVE this.

3 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken thighs

1 large onion, sliced thin

2 cans tomato paste

1 can diced tomatoes

1 green pepper (feel free to substitute with red – I will next time)

8 oz. baby bella mushrooms (you could add more if you like)

6 cloves of chopped garlic

3 tsps. Italian Seasoning

3 tbsps. capers

A handful of chopped green olives

2 tsps. kosher salt ( or more to taste)

1 1/2 tsps.  crushed red pepper

1/2 cup dry white wine (or cooking wine)

Lay the sliced onions in the bottom of the pot, lay chicken on top.  In a large bowl, mix all other ingredients together and pour over chicken.  Set crock pot to low for 7 hours…..Mmmmmmmmmm.  SO GOOD.

So, the changes I made from the orignal?  I substituted Italian Seasoning for oregano and basil, left out celery seasoning (didn’t have any) and the olive oil (missed that ingredient entirely – didn’t need it anyway), added a can of diced tomatoes, added 2 tbsps of capers and half a jar of stuffed green olives (they were teeny so I just left em whole), doubled the garlic and – finally – doubled the salt to 2 tsps. (the original was BLANDSVILLE BABY).  The thighs are now falling apart and the dish is a rich, spicy chicken stew…..it will be amazing over pasta.  Can hardly wait!

4 Responses to “Nutsy’s Chicken Caccianesca….or is it Puttantore? Nah, I like Caccianesca. It’s “cacciay”!!”

  1. Thanks for tomorrow night’s menu.

    Cheers.

  2. Glad I could help! Let me know what you think.

  3. I’ve never hears of “puttantore”, though it sounds similar to “puttanesca”, in which case I think you want to go with Caccianesca

    http://www.foodreference.com/html/a-ladies-puttanesca.html

    Just sayin’ . . . 😉

  4. Yes, I was going for the mash up of cacciatore and puttanesca. Puttanesca has a fine store behind it, huh?? I agree that caccianesca is the way to go!!

Leave a Reply

