And it snowed again! A lot!

After yesterday morning’s snow we had a bit of a break.  Then it started sleeting and raining.  I had a BYC scheduling meeting last night.  I brought the kids with me since Larry was working late.  Gracie fell down the front stoop on all the ice.  Poor thing.  She’s got a big welt across her back.  Everything was covered in a sheet of ice.  Larry got home around 10pm and it hadn’t started snowing yet.  We got a phone call at 10:30pm that school would have a two hour delayed start!  Love that.  Kids get to sleep and then I still get time alone once they’ve gone.  at 5:00am we got a call that school would be closed!  Yay!  We woke up to 15 more inches of snow!  There is just a ton of it.  Compare today’s shots to the photo I posted yesterday and you’ll get a good idea of how much more snow there is now.  Holy smokes!

That’s a 4 foot fence.

A LOT of snow!!!

And Gracie and The Finnster.

The Chicken Curry Casserole I made yesterday was delish!  I have enough to freeze for another supper, which is a home run.  I’m making pulled pork today.  I made the Neely’s Barbecue Sauce yesterday.  That will serve as the sauce for the pork.  I learned an important pulled pork lesson this summer – make the pork first (rub it with spices, cook in crock pot with soda – ginger ale or root beer).  Then, DRAIN all liquid.  Pull the pork and THEN add the sauce.  What a difference. The rub:

Dry Rub:

  • 3 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon dry mustard
  • 3 tablespoons coarse salt

Cook in crock pot for 6-8 hours on low with 12 oz. of root beer.  Drain completely, pull the pork and then add barbecue sauce.  I like Sweet Baby Ray’s from a bottle and today I’ll be adding homemade Neely’s Barbecue Sauce. Should be Yo-may!!!!!

Kids are happy to play and just be home.  I’m going to do the laundry and some cleaning before heading outside to finish shoveling and have some fun.  Oh, and we didn’t see Idol last night so I’ll be watching that on the DVR while folding laundry.  Poor Larry is on his way to North Carolina…..actually he is probably still in the limo.  It came at 8:30 and his flight is at 11:50….so we’ll see.  Sucks.  He won’t get home until 10:00-11:00 and then he’s got to go right back to work tomorrow.  Not fun.  Then, to top it off, I’m pretty sure Frostbiting will be cancelled again this weekend.  I think the Bay, BYC basin and canals are pretty frozen.  I’m happy to have him home, but he’ll miss being out there.  I’m pretty sure The Boys will find something that “needs to be done down at the JYC”…..something that involves beer.  The JYC is a small structure that used to serve as the main Clubhouse back in the early days.  It’s a pleasant little place and if the sun is shining, it gets nice and warm on a winters day.  Now it is the Junior Yacht Club and it serves as our Sailing Center.  Anyhoo, time to put up the pork.  Have a nice day.  Enjoy the snow if you got it!!!

One Response to “And it snowed again! A lot!”

  1. I need to stop complaining about our winter so far. I’d hate to have to shovel that!

    BTW, love new sofa.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

