My love’s birthday!

Happy Birthday honey!!!

We started the day by bringing coffee, cards and presents (lots of candy – he IS the candy man!) in bed.  This was followed by allowing Dad some time to chill in bed and watch a movie.  Then Dad went and got a haircut.  He came home to Coronation Chicken for lunch – one of his favorites and a surprise!  Now he’s off to see The Green Hornet with Laurence, while Gracie and I make his birthday cakes.  Cakes?  Yes, cakes!  The first is a cake I make from scratch that is just out of this world.  It’s called Celebration Cake.  I got it out of a BHG magazine years ago and have never seen it or been able to find it on the Internet since.  So I am very, very glad I wrote it down in my Recipe Book!  It came with a recipe for Vanilla Buttercream Frosting – sooooo easy and soooo delicious.  Recipes for both below.  But since my darling Larry is not a cake fan, Gracie is making her ice cream cake for him.  Mmmmmmm…..he’ll love that.  She lines a square cake pan with Saran Wrap.  Then she lays Oreo’s to cover the bottom.  They fit perfectly.  On top of this goes vanilla fudge ice cream that has been softened.  The final layer is crushed Oreo’s.  Then you freeze it.  It’s good with whipped cream and/or chocolate sauce. Why two cakes?  I, and my inlaws, like cake.  I also need to practice making a fancy cake for my niece’s bridal shower this summer.  While fondant is just gorgeous, I hate eating it and it pisses me off when it’s on a cake.  Thus, I am covering my cake with buttercream.  It doesn’t need to be fondant-perfect, but it needs to look pretty good and smooth.  Thus the need for practice, practice, practice.  Plus, I just like to make cakes.  It’s FUN!!!  I just put together the three layers of cake and crumb-coated them.  They’re in the fridge firming up.  Photos of finished product to follow!  Here’s the cake and frosting recipes:

Celebration Cake

2 1/2 sticks of softened butter

2 cups of sugar

1 tbsp. vanilla

4 tsps. baking powder

1/2 each baking soda and salt

4 eggs (room temp)

3 1/2 cups flour

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

Mix first five ingredients in a big bowl on medium speed for 3 minutes.  Lower speed and add one egg at a time.  Add in half of the flour and all the buttermilk and mix.  Then add the remaining flour.  Pour into three greased and parchment lined cake pans.  Bake for 30 – 35 minutes in a 350 oven.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

4 sticks of softened butter

16 oz. of Marshmallow Fluff

2 cups of confectioners sugar

2 tbsp. vanilla

Mix until fluffy.

We’re headed out to dinner tonight and then will bring the birthday cakes to Larry’s folk’s house for dessert.  His sister is visiting too, so it will be nice.  I must remember candles!!!

In other news, I have had a rough couple of weeks.  I had a health scare that was resolved, my mother is a constant source of stress and aggravation (if I’m being honest), my sister is suffering, my surgery is Tuesday, I have a CCK HIDEA scan next week and I wish that it were different.  I’m STRESSED.  But today is a good day.  Larry is here and healthy.  While it may not always be apparent, I adore you Larry.  Our kids are great and we have a great day in store.  So there is much to be thankful for.  But I’m still having a big, fat cocktail tonight.  Or six.

3 Responses to “My love’s birthday!”

  1. Dear Nutsy:
    You go girl with your positive self.
    Love
    Kristen

  2. I’m with your husband on the cake question. My wife makes me either brownies or a pie on my birthday.

    Cheers.

  3. That sounds like a great Birthday! We always tried to provide the favorite dessert, the favorite meal (restaurant), the favorite activity. Like queen for a day! I might try that cake.

Leave a Reply

