Guilt!

I’m missing the PTA meeting this morning!!! Yes!  It’s true!  Former President skips PTA meeting!  I haven’t missed one in about 4 years.  The Earth won’t stop turning and life as we know it will continue.  It’s just hard to step out of a habit you’ve been in for a long, long time.  Why am I not going?  I forgot it was today!  Ha ha ha.  My mother needs me to run an errand and I’m just….well….tired.  So, I’m not going!  I went to Founders Day on Tuesday.  It’s a celebration where we honor teachers, parents and citizens with lifetime PTA membership awards for all they’ve done.  I really enjoy this night.  The speeches are warm, funny and endearing.  It’s nice to see folks who work so hard get some recognition.  It’s usually a surprise and we have their families waiting in the wings to come out as someone presents the award.  I presented the award for our school.  It went to my friend, Ann F.  She’s just the greatest.   Salt of the Earth, has known more than her share of heartache and never, ever complains.  Amazing faith, strength and courage.  She fights every single day.  She runs half of our committees – all the hardest and most thankless jobs – blood drive, membership, Council Delegate, Special Ed rep….God, she’s unbelievable.  Somehow she always manages to stay in the background.  She is SO NOT the mommy who sweeps in all dressed up and spackled for her grand appearance to “help”.  Ann is already there and has pretty much everything done.  She’s also an excellent cocktailer.  I love her and it was my pleasure to speak about her and present her with the award.

More on guilt:  I like Facebook.  I do.  I used to hate it, but have found a happy groove.  Here’s the rub:  I hate asking someone to be my friend and I hate when certain people want to be my friend.  Case in point:  A woman who lives nearby, Club member, kid in same school……and yet, we have NOTHING in common.  We have never hung out or had any sort of decent conversation.  Ever.  I don’t like her.  I find her super annoying.  She’s one of those All About Me! people…so icky.  She friends me!  What is she thinking?  Really?  REALLY?  Aw…..come on.  I had weeded through my friend list a while back and I’ve kind of slipped again….It’s time to toughen up again.  Also, I never, ever want to be one of those people with 396 friends…..COME ON!!!

On a whole new topic, I went to the Dermotologist yesterday and had three things cut off my bod yesterday.  She also burned some flaky skin on my nose.  I’m starting to feel like salad.  I’ve been sliced, diced and tossed six ways to Sunday.   I’m healing and doing really well after the surgery.  I’m a tiny bit sore and the only real problem is that by 8pm I really, really, really just want to lay down in my bed.  Otherwise, I’m pretty good!  Pathology all came back normal, so I never need to worry about that part of me again!  Also, miraculously, I have had no real signs of menopause yet.  Did I just ruin it by writing that down??????  No sweating, no craziness…..It’s been over a week.  I suppose that could all still come, but seriously, I would have expected to have seen some signs by now.  Oh well, let’s just go with it, shall we?  For my children’s sake, I hope present state remains.

LOVING American Idol this season.  Found a new blog, Clouds in My Coffee, that I love.  I’ve added him to my blogroll.  Check it out if you can.  He’s funny.  His latest post is about Idol and he is funny and insightful.  He also reviewed The King’s Speech and I was so glad he did.  My daughter wants to see this and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why it was rated R.  Dave solved this.  Colin Firth drops the F Bomb a few times.  Sadly, my daughter has heard this more than a few times from my and my husbands mouth, so…..  it’s on.  I’ll take her.  I want to see it as well.

Hmmm.  Anything else new?  Yes.  I could rag about my mother, but this Catholic girl is feeling enough guilt today just for missing the PTA meeting.  Have a great day!!! 🙂

4 Responses to “Guilt!”

  1. For my wife, the menopause stuff started after about six weeks. It does get less pronounced over time, (we’re at 2+ years now), but she still has the occasional hot flash.

    As for volunteer guilt, I think that organizations, or more precisely the lazy members of organizations, use such guilt as means of keeping competent, diligent people doing the heavy lifting. That, in turn, keeps them from having to make any contribution except complaining about stuff when it’s done. I learned a long time ago, to never feel guilty about stuff like that, especially when I’ve contributed more than my fair share.

    Cheers.

    P.S. Congrats on the good test results!

  2. I’m surprised you haven’t had a schedule conflict previously in 4 years of faithful service. You have a family and friends which translate into other obligations. Don’t be so hard on yourself. You have to do what works for you. In addition to what Mr. Sherman says, the few times I attended PTA I found a new forum for the “mean girls” of my high school days to indulge their issues of power and control. I never had the patience for that kind of garbage, so I wasn’t going to waste perfectly good guilt on it.

    Glad you are feeling better and everything is turning out “normal,” including menopause!

  3. When I first joined 6 years ago, it was Mean Girl Central. The group in now (and the group that was with me) are awesome, fun and normal. I’m sure it will evolve again – always does, but my time there was good and I made some good friends.

    As for menopause, I’m hoping to completely bypass that 6 week mark. Yeah, I know it’s wishful thinking, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!!!

  4. Well, hey Nutsy… I must admit when I got an email saying “Nutsy Fagan has commented on your blog”, I was like “Who the…” but after touring your website, I’m like… well hey. Glad you reached out, I have enjoyed looking at your own site–its like mine. Regular updates about just whatever strikes the fancy that day in the slight hope that someone else finds it worth reading. I’ll add your blog to my own blogroll and hope to check it regularly. Find me on FB if you want–I dont send friend requests, but I do accept certain ones– or “like” clouds on FB. Talk atcha…

Leave a Reply

