We’re not in Kansas anymore….

Geez Louise, it’s blowing a gale.  Right now it’s blowing a steady 27mph with gusts up to 45mph.  All.  Day.  Long.  So while it’s been a really sunny day, it is kind of awful outside.  No walking my Finn.  Too windy.  We went out to Pep Boys, Petco, Michaels and the grocery store and everyone just wanted to get home asap.  Laurence had two friends sleepover last night…..Larry went downstairs at midnight to tell them to shut off the TV.  They were up at 7am this morning and out in the backyard by 8am.  I don’t know what I was thinking because we had already planned to have 6 of his school friends over tonight to watch a Harry Potter movie.  The only saving grace is that they’ll all be picked up by 9:30pm.  I can deal with that.

I’m excited for tomorrow – hang out day and cooking time.  My sister, her husband, daughter and future son-in-law are coming for dinner!  They’re all very fun and I love hanging out with them.  I’m going to make Ina’s Wild Mushroom Lasagne, marinated chicken on the grill and the asparagus I made for Christmas.  I’ll have to go back through my posts to find the link – I hope I linked it, because I can’t find the recipe online now….how does that happen?  I found it so easily last time.  Now?  Poof!  Like Kaiser Soze!  I’ll link it when I find it – it was yummy.  And (I say this with guilt for not feeling guilty) my mother can’t come!!  It’s rare we get to have time together without my mom around.  She tends to suck a bit of the energy out of the room…..enough said.  I’m just glad they’re coming and we can share a nice meal.

It’s only 7:05.  It feels like these kids have been here for three hours……Red, red wine……

Hi, I’m back.  It’s 8:22.  They just came inside from playing Manhunt and screaming Katy Perry’s Firework at the top of their lungs from the top of our swingset…..You’d think they’d burn out.  No.  Don’t think that’s happening.  Now they’re making movies on my camera.  Perhaps something interest to post tomorrow?

2 Responses to “We’re not in Kansas anymore….”

  1. You just reminded me of another advantage to hearing loss. The grandson had a sleep over last fall and it wasn’t nearly as bad as I remember them being. Now my mom might tell you otherwise since she was up at all hours of the night while I slept peacefully through the whole thing.

  2. Heh. When my boys have friends sleep over, demanding sleep is a lost cause. Their parents wind up picking up zombies the next day.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

